La Fédération des francophones de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador (FFTNL) is a not-for-profit organization that defends and promotes the rights and interests of the Francophone and Acadian communities in Newfoundland and Labrador. The FFTNL works to protect the rights of Francophones in minority situations. Its mission is to promote and facilitate the development of Francophonie in Newfoundland and Labrador. The FFTNL was created by members of the community for the purposes of targeted lobbying and public consultation.




Francophone organizations may be a member of the FFTNL if:

  • they have a Provincial mandate and are working in a specified theme;
  • they are the spokespersons for their region.

May not be members of the FFTNL if:

    • they are organizations that do not meet two criteria stated above;
    • they are individuals

      Note: The information above is informative. Only the rules and regulations of the FFTNL are authentic.


      Presidencies and directors

      Successive presidencies

      Roger CLARK, 1973-1975, President/founder
      Peter HEFFERNAN, 1975-1978
      Robert CORMIER, 1978-1979
      Roger CHAMPAGNE, 1979-1981
      Roger ROY, 1981-1984
      Robert CORMIER, 1984-1986
      Claude DESROCHERS, 1986-1990
      Mireille THOMAS, 1990-1995
      Jean-Guy DIONNE, 1995-2005
      Julio CUSTODIO, 2005-2013
      Cyrilda POIRIER, 2013-2017
      Sophie THIBODEAU, 2017-Present

      Successive Management

      Paul Charbonneau
      Robert Cormier
      Francine Labrie
      Conrad Tittley
      Francine Labrie
      Hélène Davis
      Ali Chaisson 1996-2006
      Cyrilda Poirier 2006-2010
      Gaël Corbineau 2010-today


      65, chemin Ridge, suite 233, Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) A1B 4P5
      Phone: (709) 800-6200

      Follow us

      Subscribe to our newsletter
      Suivez-nous sur Facebook
      Suivez Nos actualités